Green Beans

Several years ago, my Aunt Claudia sent me a short note written on the back of a label from a can of green beans. Along with some brief newsy comments about health and family were these words, “The beans will be the closest you can get to my mother – add ham or salt pork – cook about 2 hours – until all the liquid has boiled out.”

They say, “A picture is worth a thousand words.” (The same thing must be true of a bean can label.) No one has the time or patience to listen to me tell all about my grandmother, but let me share one picture and a few words with you.

In our collection of snapshots is one of Grandmother Bullard and two year old Marty at the “duck pond” at Spring Lake Park in Texarkana. Picture in your mind a small, gentle woman, her back bent with age and from years of tugging and lifting a crippled giant of a husband, bending even lower to help a small child feed the ducks. Every time I see that picture it seems to me like I’m looking right into heaven.

mother-b.jpg

Consider Jesus’ words in Luke 13:34: “O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you, how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, but you were not willing!” The image is unmistakable.

God left us a picture too. In John 14:9 Jesus said, “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father…

Like my grandmother, Paul was a living picture. In Galatians 2:20 he said, ” I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

We see the Father through the Son. There are many out there in the world that do not know God because they have never seen the picture.

Do you know anyone who has never seen that picture? Are you showing it to them?

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, Religion

Leave a Reply

