Helping in Haiti

From: Walter Stephens, M.D.
Date: Thu, Jan 21, 2010 at 6:55 PM

I cannot fight it any longer. I am going to Haiti.

I came up with a hundred practical and logical reasons that I shouldn’t and couldn’t go. However, there was one overwhelming reason I have to go … people are suffering.

When Matt Tincher and I started CMI Medical Missions it was to minister to the suffering in under resourced areas of the world. The amount of suffering and pain that is going on in Haiti right now is unimaginable to me. CMI Medical Missions will be partnering with Bethanie Ministries about 100 miles outside of Port-au-Prince.

Apparently there are thousands there that have fled from the city seeking food and shelter. There are over a thousand people living on a soccer field at the mission without tents or much food, much less medical care.

Matt and I will be leading a small group leaving Feb. 8th and returning the 14th. I would like to invite anyone that can go with us and help. We will be providing medical care, distributing food and helping out wherever it is needed.

The people of Haiti have got to be wondering, “Where is God and does He even care?” I want to show these people that God is right there and He loves them. I do not know a better way for me to show them this than to go there myself and use the skills that God has given me. I would also ask for your prayers and donations for medical supplies for us to take with us.

If you would like to make a donation you can give to:

CMI Medical Missions
Christopher Ministries, Inc.
PO Box 555
Mt. Juliet, TN 37121

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity

Leave a Reply

