Small, Lost, and Frightened

Recently, a little white poodle wandered into our driveway. Close behind came a frantic young girl looking for her “Layla”.

I was reminded of a time some years ago when a neighbor knocked on my door and dropped into my hands a small, dirty ball of matted fur with eyes blinded by cataracts. A tiny poodle, blind, lost, hungry and frightened.“I know you have dogs,” my neighbor said. “This dog appeared in my yard and I don’t know what to do with it. Can you take it?”Being a “dog person”, how could I refuse.

After a bath (have you ever tried to give a bath to a strange, blind, frightened dog?) and some food, the little pooch seemed to be somewhat at peace. Still, she didn’t want me to brush her, or pet her as she snapped and growled whenever I tried to move her to a safe place as she wandered blindly about the house. I actually became afraid to touch this pitiful little four pound creature.

Not having found an owner in our immediate neighborhood, I decided to put out a sign on our mailbox post. It read, “Found – Tiny, white poodle. May be blind. Call (my number).” As I tacked it up, I was thinking, “Someone probably threw this dog away and now I am stuck with it. What will I do if no one calls?”

Fortunately a child passing by on the school-bus saw the sign, told the owner (about five blocks away), and the next evening, the little dog was welcomed back into its loving family.

They were actually overjoyed to welcome back this seemingly unlovely creature, because they loved it in spite of its physical faults (and as I had judged, apparent bad attitude).

As I reflect on these events, there seem to be so many lessons we can learn, depending on where we place ourselves in the story.

Have you ever found yourselves with a problem you wanted absolutely nothing to do with? I have.

Have you ever been lost and frightened? I have.

Have you ever tried to help someone who seemed to fight your every move? I have.

Have your ever had the opportunity to welcome back into your family a soiled, lost, frightened soul? God has.

Consider Luke 15:20-24 (NIV)

… “But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him. {21} “The son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son. ‘ {22} “But the father said to his servants, ‘Quick! Bring the best robe and put it on him. Put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet. {23} Bring the fattened calf and kill it. Let’s have a feast and celebrate. {24} For this son of mine was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’

2 Comments

Filed under Religion

2 responses to “Small, Lost, and Frightened

  1. Angela

    Why, exactly, don’t you do more writing?

  2. My creative muse seems not to drop by very often anymore. 😦

Leave a Reply

