A Fish Tale

Some time ago, as I sat listening to Dr. Hillery Motsinger talk about the Family Upreach ministry ( a Christian ministry to prison and jail inmates and their families ) my thoughts were prompted by what he called “a fish tale.” As he related the story of a young woman who had been reached in prison through the Family Upreach ministry I was reminded of some very early fishing lessons at the side of my grandmother.

It seems that after the young woman was out of prison and living for a while with a Christian lady it was decided that it was time for her to get a job and a place of her own. Immediate panic set in and the young woman disappeared. A decision made for her and not by her had made her so afraid of those she had trusted that she fled.

It was as Hillery compared the lesson he learned on this occasion to a fisherman knowing when and how to “set the hook” that I thought of my grandmother’s ability to snag those brim and perch out of Starks’ pond. She knew what bait to use, how to present it, and had the patience to let the fish make the choice. I used the same bait, presented it on the same hooks, but always seemed to jerk that hook right out of the fish’s mouth.

Jesus said, “Come, follow me and I will make you fishers of men.” (Matt 4:19)

From the apostle Paul we can learn:

What bait to use – “For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified.” (1 Cor 2:2)

And how to present the hook – “To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all men so that by all possible means I might save some.” (1 Cor 9:22)

When we truly understand the bait and how the hook works we will know as Paul also knew, not to “jerk the hook.” “But food does not bring us near to God; we are no worse if we do not eat, and no better if we do. {9} Be careful, however, that the exercise of your freedom does not become a stumbling block to the weak.” (1 Cor 8:8-9)

When we have to have our own way in matters that don’t really matter, aren’t we just “jerking the hook.”

Do you know any fish with scars in their lips? I do.

1 Comment

Filed under Church of Christ, Religion

One response to “A Fish Tale

  1. David Underwood

    I know a bunch with scars in their lips, and I know some that were scared off for good.

    DU

Leave a Reply

