Passing Of A Great Servant Of God

The following is from Cecil Hook’s daughter, Mira Prince.

Dear friends,My dad, Cecil Hook, passed from this world to the next peacefully around 10:30pm on Friday, June 1, 2007.  He was here at home in his bed in his favorite pajamas. We had known that Dad was very near the end as we entered the weekend. Friday started with the alarm clock radio playing “I Can Only Imagine”, and Dad took his last breath while my husband was in another room playing Eric Clapton’s “If I Saw You in Heaven” on his guitar. This morning in church we closed with the song “When We All Get to Heaven”. It is a sad day, but a great day, for us to have witnessed his passing with such grace and confidence.I assured Dad a few hours before he died that I would do my best to keep the book ministry going and that I would keep the web page up and running as long as it appears to be needed (which may be forever!).  The Freedom’s Ring web page and subscription list continue, thanks to the generous donation of time and effort from Randal Bowling and Vic Phares.  Randy sent us this note on Friday, the day that Dad died. May set the 3rd consecutive record month for daily hits. May averaged 5,552 hits per day, every day.  That is more than 2 million hits a year.  Also, Cecil’s 5 on-line .PDF books received, collectively, 30 downloads per day, every day.  May was the busiest month in the last 15 months, at least.

Dad lived a full, rich life. The cards, letters, and visitors he received over the past weeks attest to the impact he had. He will be greatly missed by many of you, and certainly by us, but we all rejoice in his passing to a better place as he goes to his Maker. Some, already passed on, including “The Pretty Girl Riding In the Front Seat”, no doubt have welcomed him with great celebration.

Mira

4 Comments

Filed under Cecil Hook, Church of Christ, Religion, Restoration Movement

4 responses to “Passing Of A Great Servant Of God

  1. I never met your Dad. But I felt that I met him in his writings. His spirit of freedom has helped many, including myself, embrace the spirit of hope found in Christ alone.

    I know this is a long overdue note, but I just found your site tonight.

    I am so sorry for your loss, as well as thankful for his faithfulness to our God.

    Peace.

  2. Cassius Carter

    Mira,
    I sit looking at a 1970 printing of The Bible RSV. The inscription says:

    To Cassius Carter,
    Your life in Christ began at your baptism on February 25, 1973. Love this Book and it will keep you in Him and guide you to heaven.
    Cecil Hook, Lovington NM

    Little did he know then that I had actually been saved a few weeks earlier at a baptist revival at another “denomination” in town. He’d probably laugh at this story now–I know i do whenever I read this inscription. His advice about The Book is quite true, though.

    I had found his web site 4 years ago when i did a search looking for your dad and I had thought of coming to see him in my comings and goings, but I was always in too much of a hurry to get somewhere. It deeply saddens me now that i never stopped to smell the sweet rose of your father’s presence once again. I’m both happy and sad for your loss and mine. I always remembered him as a sweet, dear man. And I love the direction he took during the latter side of his life. I attend a 1st Baptist church but I consider myself a Christian w/o regard to “denominational” beliefs. I thank your father for having the courage to do what he did knowing the battle he had to face.

    Mira I don’t remember you and i don’t even know if I ever met you in Lovington, but I would love to hear from you if you wish to communicate back. Be at peace.

    In Him, Cassius

  3. Gary Schnieders

    csn you direct me to a site of Cecil Hook’s writings? I would be very grateful. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

