Are You A Defensive Believer?

The theological markers of this believer appear to be belief in the following:

1. Special protection (“I believe that fewer bad things will happen to me in this life because God is protecting me from harm”)
2. Special Insight (“God gives me clear and obvious signs to communicate His will to me”)
3. Divine Solicitousness (“Nothing is too small, like finding my lost keys, to pray to God about”)
4. Special Destiny (“God has a very specific plan for my life that I must search for and find”)
5. Denial of Randomness (“God controls every event around us, down to the smallest details”)

From a comment on this post:

http://www.preachermike.com/2007/01/11/letter-to-a-christian-nation

by Richard Beck

Leave a comment

Filed under Church of Christ, Religion

Leave a Reply

