The Gathering

Four generations of our family were a part of “The Gathering” tonight at the Harding Academy auditorium in Searcy. Each of our generations had friends there as well, and together our “family” spread across the room.

As we worshiped together, I thought how it must have been in those early years as Christians came together in their homes – family and friends and travelers gathered together in small groups to sing and pray and share words of encouragement and hope.

Most who know me know I am not an emotional sort – no touchy, feely or pretend – just the facts. Somehow, though, even though the lights are dimmed and candles flicker, The Gathering seems real to me. I am touched in some way that is hard to explain.

I encourage you to join with family and friends and strangers in offering worship and adoration to God at The Gathering (each Sunday at 6:00PM).

“Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace to men on whom his favor rests.”

1 Comment

Filed under Church of Christ, Harding University, Religion

One response to “The Gathering

  1. Bobby

    I made a similar observation about your family last night. Sitting right in front of me were three generations with the fourth sitting a few rows in front of you.

    Few families experience this joy. I’m sure it was a memorable time for you.

Leave a Reply

