MY MIND AND BODY AT ODDS WITH EACH OTHER

All my life I have been a very active person both physically and mentally. Even now I love to play softball, go on bicycle trips, go mountain biking, camp out, hike, ski, and other things as well. But more and more my body is resisting my attempts to be active. I will say, “Let’s play softball tonight,” but my body says, “Do you remember how much my ankle hurt the last time we played?” I suggest that we go on a 30 mile bike ride, but my body says “You are asking too much of me”. I say “Let’s go to Glen Rose and go mountain biking!” but my body says, “You want to what?” I suggest we go to Colorado and go mountain climbing, but my body says, “You have got to be kidding!”

 

I don’t know why I have to have this argument every time I want to do something! It’s like pulling eyeteeth to get my body to cooperate with me. Does my situation sound familiar to you? Lots of folks have this problem. Their minds are young and they want to do things, but their bodies say, “no way Jose!” I have visited many people in nursing homes that were much worse than myself. They would love to do the simplest things, like walk, feed themselves and be a little independent again, but their bodies are simply not up to the challenge.

 

Paul describes a similar situation in Romans chapter seven. Paul lived in a physical body that wanted to satisfy the desires of the flesh, but Paul’s mind (or spirit) wanted to obey Gods spiritual laws. In verses 21-23 he describes it like this, “So I find this law at work; when I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in the members of my body, waging against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members.”

 

Out of desperation in verse 24 he calls out, “What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death?” Then he answers his own question when he concludes, “Thanks be to God—through Jesus Christ our Lord!” In Philippians 1:23 Paul longed to depart the body and go to be with the Lord, knowing that then he would have a spiritual body that would not always be at war with him. In the same way if we are in Christ, we someday will have a spiritual body that will be willing and able to do anything that the mind wants to do. Won’t that be a wonderful change?

 

Just something to think about!

 

Harvey Schultz

Leave a comment

Filed under Church of Christ, Harvey Schultz, Religion

Leave a Reply

